What Are Your Insurance Responsibilities as a Driver in Delaware?
Skilled auto accident attorneys explain the law regarding car insurance
Every driver in Delaware is supposed to have car insurance: it’s the law. But what happens if you are in a car crash with an uninsured driver from out of state, or there’s an issue with your own policy? At Silverman, McDonald & Friedman, we help auto accident victims just like you who are facing challenges in regard to their insurance. With offices in Wilmington, Seaford and Newark, Delaware, we can ensure that there is always an experienced car accident lawyer available to help you when you need one the most.
How car insurance requirements in Delaware affect you
In Delaware, drivers have the responsibility to carry liability insurance on their motor vehicles. You are also required to carry an insurance identification card in the vehicle so that it can be produced when an officer requests to see it, and so you can exchange insurance information with another driver in the event of an accident. If you do not renew your insurance coverage or you have allowed the policy to expire, you could have your license suspended.
The laws of Delaware prohibit you from driving a motor vehicle or motorcycle without proper liability insurance coverage. The law also extends to other people driving your car without insurance coverage. The minimum coverage is:
- $15,000 death or bodily injury in one accident for one individual
- $30,000 death or bodily injury in one accident for at least two people
- $10,000 property damage resulting from one accident
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance
The state of Delaware also requires drivers to carry PIP insurance, which is a form of no-fault insurance. Personal injury protection insurance pays your medical bills and your lost wages for up to two years or up to the amount of your policy limits, which is typically $15,000. PIP protection also includes up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
What happens when you have an accident with an uninsured driver?
If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, or if you are a victim of a hit-and-run accident, you still have options for pursuing a claim under your own policy. Under Delaware law, a person who is injured by an uninsured or under-insured motorist can make a claim for compensation against their own insurance company, who will act as the “at fault” party. Unless you have specifically refused to buy uninsured motorist protection, you should be able to make the claim.
But that does not mean the claim will go smoothly. Just like in any other car accident in Delaware, victims may still be denied the compensation they deserve by their own insurers. That’s when you want a dedicated auto accident attorney from Silverman, McDonald & Friedman on your side. We can document the evidence to prove that you were not at fault, and that your injuries were the result of your accident, and then present that evidence in trial or in settlement negotiations. We provide you with options and sound legal advice, so you can choose the best path for you and your family.
Does your car insurance protect you in the event of an accident in Delaware?
The legal team at Silverman, McDonald & Friedman welcomes the opportunity to discuss Delaware driver responsibility or any other topic related to your car crash or personal injury. We have the experience and integrity you are looking for in auto accident attorneys. To schedule your free initial consultation at our Wilmington, Seaford or Newark office, call us at 302-888-2900 or fill out our contact form.